Parc du Château de Preisch, Basse-Rentgen 0 5 0 0

Parc du Château de Preisch, Basse-Rentgen

    • Rating
    • - Not Rated Yet
  • 1576 Views
0

If fairies still exist , this is where they hide. Quiet and well-meaning, by the shady springs that crisscross the domain or beneath the circles of water which tinge the gently winding moats with pale green. So what is this force that would lead us unhesitatingly to believe that all the spirits of nature are gathered here ? Is it perhaps the breath of its creator ? Or that of his daughter Marie-Eugenie who loved to frolic here with her brother Louis and was baptised in the chapel of Saint Madeleine on the 5th of October 1817 precisely. She who founded the religious order of the Assumption and who was canonised by Paul VI in 1975.

   

The Park

“If fairies still exist, this is where they hide. Quiet and well-meaning, by the shady springs that criss-cross the grounds or beneath the circles of water which tinge the gently winding moats with pale green. So what is this force that would lead us unhesitatingly to believe that all the spirits of nature are gathered here?

Is it perhaps the breath of its creator? Or that of his daughter Marie-Eugenie who loved to frolic here with her brother Louis and was baptised in the chapel of Saint Madeleine on the 5th of October 1817. She, who founded the religious order of the Assumption and who was canonised by Paul VI in 1975.

It was her father, Jacques Milleret, who designed the park. He wanted to set off the ruins of the old fortress. It was he who, at the beginning of the 19th Century, opted for the English style, and who had the rare species imported, and above all, acclimatized them … One must go to the west of the Château across the moats by an attractive cast-iron footbridge from the Wendel foundry, in order to get to the park. Saint Nicolas is its protector from up on his 18th Century “Bildstock”, a typical Calvary from the Moselle. 
From there one can take an alleyway leading to a little chestnut wood in the middle of which a statue of Saint Madeleine seems to be in eternal repentance.

Other grassy trails will take you towards a forest of oak trees or towards other pastures, the refuge of the flock of Hampshire sheep which grazein the grounds.

Park Preisch covers 170 hectares of which 105 are occupied by a golf course comprising three 9 hole courses..

Botanical Path
« Each tree offers its poem and unveils its essence ». At the foot of about thirty trees, markers indicating the common name, the Latin name and a haiku about the particularity of the tree have been set up. Educational booklets are made available in order to explain the poems.

Topiary Garden
In the former vegetable garden, the boxwood hedges, borders of a century ago, have been cleared and restored, the cultivation areas and paths grassed. The bushes of the boxwood hedges have been pruned in waves, at the free inspiration of the sculptor, in various forms, figurative, animal and abstract, a work of topiary art.
This playful circuit lets the visitor discover the different figures, which is a game for children, soon to be relayed by a booklet.

Wooden games
In the middle of the topiary garden stands a dozen wooden games. Made locally, all of them offer more or less well known ways of playing and allow a playful interlude in a green and peaceful setting. Chinese billiards, power 4, river or trap game…games of skill or strategy, an ideal way to have fun with the family.

Other Information

  • OPENING 2020

    The castle opens its doors on Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays from 18 April to 18 October 2020.
    The estate is open on Saturdays from 2pm to 6pm and on Sundays and public holidays from 11am to 6pm.

  • PRICES

    Entrance Park and Castle + visit: 7 €.
    Entrance Park with botanical path and old topiary garden: 7 €.
    Pass Lorraine: 6€ for the castle and the park, 5€ for the park

    Children under 5 and jobseekers: free of charge
    Group (from 20 people) : 6 €.
    Guided tour + tea room : 15 € / person (on reservation)

    Contact: contact@chateaudepreisch.com

  • GOOD TO KNOW

    - Possibility of picnic.
    - Castle: free visit of about 45 minutes to 1 hour including the castle and the chapel, simple guided tour offered every Sunday from 3pm.
    - Park: includes the English garden, the botanical trail, the old topiary garden with its permaculture vegetable garden and old-fashioned wooden games, and footprints hunting (park open to mountain bikes).

    - Access:
    Car: A31 exit 44 HETTANGE GRANDE.
    Train: Thionville station (20km away) - Luxembourg station (15 km away).
    Plane : Kirchberg Airport (Luxembourg 15 km away) - Metz-Nancy Lorraine Airport.

  • EVENTS 2020

    April 11th and 12th Easter Egg Hunt: Great egg hunt in the park with hundreds of hidden eggs including a golden egg. Chocolate eggs and rewards!

    7 June Rendez-vous in the gardens: Rendez-vous on the theme "The transmission of knowledge" with several exhibitors planned such as the LPO, the Ammonite Apiary, the Zoufftgen Basketmakers, and a Tree Climbing activity.

    3 July Open-air cinema: Film shown on a giant screen in the park in front of the castle and at nightfall, catering on site before the film.

    19 July Sainte-Madeleine's Day: Traditional festival of the castle bringing together about fifty local craftsmen and producers in the form of an art and local produce market, with entertainment, restorations and music throughout the day.

    20 and 21 September European Heritage Days: Sound and light show in the chapel for the occasion, original visit of the estate to rediscover its heritage.

    October 24th The Night of the Castles: An original discovery of the castle by candlelight and its park illuminated by fireworks, with music specially set to the castle's rooms for the occasion.

    25 October Halloween: Halloween returns to the castle for a second, even more terrifying edition.

    December: Christmas animations.

Contact Details

Send To A Friend

Get Directions

Submit A Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Parc du Château de Preisch, Basse-Rentgen 0 5 1 1

Parc du Château de Preisch, Basse-Rentgen

    • Notes
    • Pas encore noté
  • 2402vues
0

Dans un parc anglais élaboré par Monsieur Milleret à partir de 1812 pour mettre en valeur les ruines et les douves de l’ancien château fort du domaine de Preisch, les tulipiers, magnolias, cyprès chauves, hêtres pourpres, ginko biloba côtoient un élevage de moutons hampshire.

Le Parc anglais
Si les fées existent encore, c’est ici qu‘elles se cachent. Tranquilles et bienveillantes, à l’ombre des sources qui quadrillent le domaine ou sous les lentilles d’eau qui colorent d’un vert léger le doux serpentin des douves. Quelle est donc cette force qui nous ferait croire sans sourciller que tous les esprits de la nature se sont donnés rendez-vous ici ?
Peut-être est-ce le souffle de son créateur ? Ou celui de sa fille Marie-Eugénie qui aimait gambader ici avec son frère Louis et avait été baptisée dans la chapelle Sainte Madeleine très exactement le 5 Octobre 1817. Celle-là même qui a fondé les Religieuses de l’Assomption et fut béatifiée par Paul VI en 1975.
C’est son père, Jacques Milleret qui a dessiné le parc. Il voulait mettre en valeur les ruines de l’ancien château fort, c’est lui, au début du XIXème siècle, qui a opté pour le style anglais, c’est encore lui qui a fait importer des espèces rares et surtout a su les acclimater… » écrivait Laurence Schmitt dans le  Républicain Lorrain du 20 août 2006.
Il faut passer à l’ouest du château et traverser les douves par une jolie passerelle en fonte issue des forges de Wendel  pour rejoindre le parc. Saint Nicolas en est le gardien du haut de son « bildstock » (calvaire typique de la Moselle) du 18ème siècle.
De là, l’on peut emprunter une allée menant à un petit bois de marronniers au centre duquel une statue de Sainte Madeleine semble se repentir depuis toujours.
D’autres allées herbues vous emmèneront vers une forêt de chênes ou vers de vastes pâtures, refuges du troupeau de moutons Hampshire qui entretiennent le domaine.
Le parc de Preisch s’étend sur 170 hectares dont 105 sont occupés par un golf de 3 X 9 trous.

Parcours sensible et botanique
Chaque arbre offre son poème et dévoile son essence. Au pied d’une trentaine d’arbres, une borne est installée portant son nom commun, le nom latin et un haïku révélant sa particularité. Un livret didactique est mis à disposition pour expliciter les poèmes.

Jardin de topiaires
Dans l’ancien potager, les haies de buis, bordures d’il y a un siècle, ont été défrichées et restaurées, les espaces de culture et cheminements engazonnés. Les buissons des haies de buis ont été taillés en vague, à la libre inspiration du sculpteur, en formes diverses, figuratives, animalières et abstraites, œuvre d’Art topiaire.
Ce circuit ludique laisse le visiteur découvrir les différentes figures, ce qui constitue un jeu pour les enfants relayé prochainement par un livret.

Jeux en bois
Au beau milieu du jardin de topiaires se dresse une dizaine de jeux en bois. De fabrication locale, tous offrent des modes de jeux plus ou moins bien connus et permettent d’effectuer une parenthèse ludique au sein d’un cadre verdoyant et paisible. Billard chinois, puissance 4, jeu de la rivière ou du passe trappe…jeux d’adresse ou de stratégie, un moyen idéal pour s’amuser en famille.

 

 

Dates d’ouverture & tarifs

  • OUVERTURE 2020

    Le château ouvre ses portes du 18 avril au 18 octobre 2020 les samedis, dimanches et jours fériés.
    Ouverture du domaine le samedi de 14h à 18h, le dimanche et jours fériés de 11h à 18h.

  • TARIFS

    Entrée Parc et Château + visite : 7 €
    Entrée Parc avec parcours botanique et ancien potager de topiaires: 7 €
    Pass Lorraine: 6€ pour le château et le parc, 5€ pour le parc

    Enfants de moins de 5 ans et demandeurs d’emploi : gratuit
    Groupe (à partir de 20 personnes) : 6 €
    Visite guidée + salon de thé : 15 € / personne (sur réservation)

    Contact : contact@chateaudepreisch.com

  • A SAVOIR

    - Possibilité de pique-nique.
    - Château : visite libre d’environ 45 minutes à 1 heure comprenant le château et la chapelle, visite guidée simple proposée tous les dimanches à partir de 15h
    - Parc : comprend le jardin anglais, le parcours botanique, l’ancien jardin topiaire avec son potager en permaculture et ses jeux en bois d’antan, et la chasse aux empreintes (parc ouvert aux VTT).

    - Accès :
    Voiture : A31 sortie 44 HETTANGE GRANDE.
    Train : Gare de Thionville (à 20km) - Gare de Luxembourg (à 15 km).
    Avion : Aéroport Kirchberg (Luxembourg à 15km) - Aéroport Metz-Nancy Lorraine.


  • EVENEMENTS 2020

    11 et 12 avril Chasse aux oeufs de Pâques : Grande chasse aux oeufs dans le parc avec des centaines d'oeufs cachés dont un oeuf d'or. Oeufs en chocolat et récompenses à la clés !

    7 juin Rendez-vous aux jardins : Rendez-vous sur le thème "La transmission des savoirs" avec plusieurs exposants prévus comme la LPO, le Rucher des ammonites, les Vanniers de Zoufftgen, et une activité Grimpe d'arbre.

    3 juillet Cinéma en plein air : Film diffusé sur un écran géant dans le parc en face du château et à la tombée de la nuit, restauration sur place avant le film.
    19 juillet Fête de la Sainte-Madeleine : Fête traditionnelle du château réunissant une cinquantaine d'artisans et producteurs locaux sous forme de marché d'art et du terroir, avec animations, restaurations et musiques tout au long de la journée.

    20 et 21 septembre Journées européennes du patrimoine : Mise en sons et lumière de la chapelle pour l'occasion, visite inédite du domaine pour redécouvrir son patrimoine.

    24 octobre La Nuit des châteaux : Découverte inédite du château à la lueur des chandelles et de son parc éclairé aux brûlots, avec une mise en musique spécialement pour l'occasion des salles du château.

    25 octobre Halloween : Halloween revient au château pour une deuxième édition encore plus terrifiante.

    Décembre : Animations de Noël

Contact

Envoyer à un ami

Calculer votre itinéraire

Il y a 1 avis. Ajoutez votre commentaire

  1. Mesdames et Messieurs, est-ce qu’on peut visiter le parc avec un chien, bien sûr tenu en laisse.
    Merci pour une information.
    Cordialement
    Jürgen Simon

Poster un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *